top of page
Wood more Dark_edited.jpg

MUSICALS - the musical magazine

SCHOLL - The Bud of the White Rose

A new musical that does everything right

(...) Titus Hoffmann's production skilfully interweaves past, present and future as well as reality and imagination and allows everything to flow logically into one another. The stage set-up by Stephan Prattes also follows this concept (...) Above the stage fly wooden beams, which consistently move up and down or turn. During these transformation journeys, the swastika symbol flashes through again and again and thus symbolizes the omnipresent National Socialism, initially in a fairly subtle way, but in the end it cannot be overlooked thanks to concrete positioning and red neon lighting. 

Also consistent is the timeless, genre-spanning music by Thomas Borchert with musical arrangements by Robert Paul - on the keyboards and musical director of the five-piece band in the background, being part of an excellent sound experience.

This is mainly due to the brilliant performers, whose singing interpretations alone characterize the evening as aesthetically high quality. As Hans, Alexander Auler shows the vulnerable and artistic side behind the flawless facade of the Wehrmacht soldier through voice and play. Touching when he sets "These words remain" to music based on an original poem by the historical Hans Scholl. Sandra Leitner as Sophie successfully oscillates between a bright little sister with a loose mouth and a courageous resistance fighter. As Traute, Judith Caspari is convincing all along the line and impresses with her phenomenal voice not only in her solos, but also in the duets with her perfectly complementary playing partners. Although not narratively present in the play, Fin Holzwart is more than present as Shurik. Lina Gerlitz is pleasing as the lively Ulla, as is Dennis Hupka as the young Freddy. Tough Inge is portrayed authentically by Karolin Konert. 

The successful musical "SCHOLL - The Bud of the White Rose" does in any way everything right. It remains to be hoped that it will find its way onto the German stage(s) again, as it is excellent at processing history in a way that is worth hearing and seeing and creating a contemporary reference in the process.(Constanze Köhler / Musicals Magazin - June/July 2023) 

SCHOLL Musicals Magazine1.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
Scholl Backdrop WebSeite QuerStart_s.jpg

MUSICALS - Das Musicalmagazin

SCHOLL - Die Knospe der Weißen Rose

Ein neues Musical, das alles richtig macht

(...) Die Inszenierung von Titus Hoffmann verwebt Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft sowie Realität und Imagination gekonnt miteinander und lässt alles logisch ineinanderfließen. Diesem Konzept folgt auch die Bühneneinrichtung von Stephan Prattes (...) Über dem Bühnengeschehen schweben rechtwinklige Holzbalken, die stetig ihre Position ändern, abgesenkt, hochgezogen und gedreht werden. Bei diesen Verwandlungsfahrten blitzt immer wieder kurz das Hakenkreuzsymbol durch und versinnbildlicht damit zunächst einigermaßen subtil, am Ende durch konkrete Positionierung und rote Neonbeleuchtung unübersehbar, den allgegenwärtigen Nationalsozialismus. 

Ebenfalls in sich durchweg stimmig ist die zeitlose, genreübergreifende Musik von Thomas Borchert mit musikalischen Arrangements von Robert Paul, unter dessen musikalischer Leitung am Keyboard die fünfköpfige Band im Bühnenhintergrund Teil des hervorragenden Klangerlebnisses ist.

Dieses geht vor allem auf die brillierenden Darstellerin*innen zurück, deren Gesangsinterpretationen allein bereits den Abend als ästhetisch hochwertig auszeichnen. Als Hans zeigt Alexander Auler mittels Stimme und Spiel die verletzliche und künstlerische Seite hinter der makellosen Fassade des Wehrmachtssoldaten. Berührend, wenn er "Diese Worte bleiben" nach einem Originalgedicht des historischen Hans Scholl vertont. Sandra Leitner als Sophie changiert gelungen zwischen aufgeweckter kleiner Schwester mit losem Mundwerk und mutiger Widerstandskämpferin. Als Traute überzeugt Judith Caspari auf ganzer Linie und imponiert mit ihrer phänomenalen Stimme nicht nur in ihren Solos, sondern auch in den Duetten mit ihren sich hervorragend ergänzenden Spielpartner*innen. Wenn auch im Stück erzählerisch nicht anwesend, so ist Fin Holzwart als Shurik jedoch mehr als präsent. Lina Gerlitz gefällt als quirlige Ulla ebenso wie Dennis Hupka als jugendlicher Freddy. Die toughe Inge wird von Karolin Konert authentisch dargestellt. 

Das gelungene Musical "SCHOLL - Die Knospe der Weißen Rose" macht jedenfalls alles richtig. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass es erneut den Weg auf die deutsche(n) Bühne(n) finden wird, versteht es doch hervorragend, die Geschichte hörens- und sehenswert aufzuarbeiten und dabei einen gegenwärtigen Bezug herzustellen. (Constanze Köhler / Musicals Magazin - Juni/Juli 2023) 

SCHOLL Musicals Magazin1.jpg
bottom of page